Priory of Sion

According to the Dossiers Secret, Order of Sion was founded in1090 in the Holy Land by Godfroy Boullion, who captured Jerusalem in 1099. After Jerusalem fell to the invading Crusaders, Godfroy ordered the construction  of the Abbey of Notre Dame du Mont de Sion to built on the ruins for an ancient Byzantine church located outside the walls of Jerusalem, south of the Sion gate. The abbey house an order of Augustinians who served as advisors to Godfroy and who, the Priory documents claim, were secretly involved in the creation of the Knights Templar in 1118, to server as the Order of Sion's military and exterior administrative arm.

In 1152 a small contingent from the Abbey in Jerusalem accompanied the French King Louis VII back to France after the end of the second Crusade and were installed at St Samson on Orléans. A more select offshoot of the group was housed at the "little priory of the Mount of Sion" nearby in St Jean le Blanc on the outskirts of Orléans. according to Priory documents, this was the inception of the secret order.

The Priory and the Knights Templar operated together until a major dispute resulted in an official split between the orders at Gisors in Normandy in 1188, known as the Cutting of the Elm.

The Priory is then said to have gone underground, adopting the name of the Order of the Rose Cross Veritas, also called Ormus ( after the French word "orme" meaning elm ). This gives rise to a link with the Rosicrucians.

The Grand Masters of the Priory have traditionally been known as "Nautonniers" or "Navigators".

The Dossier Secret lists the following people as Grand Masters of the Priory of Sion.

Jean de Gisors( 1188 - 1220 )
Marie de Saint-Clair( 1220 - 1266 )
Guillaume de Gisors( 1266 - 1307 )
Edouard de Bar( 1307- 1336 )
Jeanne de Bar( 1336 - 1351 )
Jean de Saint-Clair( 1351 - 1366 )
Blanche d'Evreux( 1366 - 1398 )
Nicolas Flamel( 1398 - 1418 )
Rene d'Anjou( 1418 - 1480 )
Iolande de Bar( 1480 - 1483 )
Sandro Filipepe (Botticelli)( 1483 - 1510 )
Leonardo de Vinci( 1510 - 1519 )
Connetable de Bourbon( 1519 - 1527 )
Ferdinand de Gonzague( 1527 - 1575 )
Louis de Nevers( 1527 - 1595 )
Robert Fludd( 1595 - 1637 )
J. Valentin Andrea( 1637 - 1654 )
Robert Boyle( 1654 - 1691 )
Isaac Newton( 1654 - 1691 )
Charles Radclyffe( 1727 - 1746 )
Charles de Lorraine( 1746 - 1780 )
Maximilien de Lorraine( 1780 - 1801 )
Charles Nodier( 1801 - 1844 )
Victor Hugo( 1844 - 1885 )
Claude Debussy( 1885 -1918 )
Jean Cocteau( 1918 - 1963 )

It is unclear exactly who became Navigator of the Priory after the death of Jean Cocteau but the title eventually passed to Pierre Plantard, who served as the main public liaison until his resignation in 1984.

On December 27 2002, a letter was released on "official" Priory stationery announcing a public relaunch of the society. It was signed by Pierre Plantard's former private secretary, Gino Sandri under the title of General Secretary and an unnamed woman as Navigator.

Exhaustive research has demonstrated that there is actually no solid historical evidence for the on-going existence of this society prior to 1956, when the group was legally registered in France.


Priory of Sion